Activities & Clubs

6th Man

Meets as needed in the weight room.

Denis Ahearn | Teacher | Denis_Ahearn@hcpss.org

Acafellas

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 703 (choir room).

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Music | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

Alex's Lemonade Stand

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 911.

The purpose of this club is to raise money for both cancer awareness and funding research for cures. 

Shanna Grimes | Teacher, Spanish | Shanna_Grimes@hcpss.org

Alpha Achievers

Meets Thursdays after school in room 914.

Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

American Red Cross

Meets Fridays after school in room 914.

Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

Anime Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in rooom 504.

Hannah Elliott | Teacher/Art | hannah_elliott@hcpss.org

Aquila, Centennial's Literary Magazine

Meets during Eagle Time in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

Astronomy & Rocket Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Athletes in Action

Meets Mondays after school in room 914.

Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

Awkward Improv Group

Meets during Eagle Time in room 802.

Kathryn Carlsen | Teacher | Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

Badminton Club

Meets after school in room 506 or the gym. Days vary.  (eaglebirdies@gmail.com)

Robert Astri | Teacher | Robert_Astri@hcpss.org

BASIC

Meets on Mondays after school in Room 501 or 516.

Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

Best Buddies

Meets on the second Tuesday after school in the cafeteria.

Elizabeth Engle | Teacher (ALS) | elizabeth_engle@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Book Was Better

Meets one Thursday a month after school in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

BSU (Black Student Union)

Meets during Eagle Time in the photo room (enter through room 516).

BTK (KPop)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site

C#

Meets Fridays after school in the Choir Room (rm 703).

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Music | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

Centennial Graphics

Meets Thursdays after school in room 407.

Centennial Graphics is a service club that makes various designs for other clubs such as logos, business cards, t-shirts, etc. and also makes websites and the like.

Robert While | Teacher | Robert_While@hcpss.org

Centennial High School Newspaper - The Wingspan

Official news source written and managed by Centennial High School students and faculty.

Rus Van Westervelt | Teacher | Rus_Vanwestervelt@hcpss.org | Website

Chess Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith | Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Columbia Community Tutors

Meets during Eagle Time in room 407.

Robert While | Teacher | Robert_While@hcpss.org

Computer Science Club

Meets TBD after school in rooms 604, 605, & 606.

A club for anyone interested in coding, game design, 3D modeling, Android development and, LAN Gaming and anything else related to computer science. Come one, come all!

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site
Nancy Smith | Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Culinary Club

Meets 1st and 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Current Events Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 911.

This club will serve as an opportunity for students to discuss current events in a group.

David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Delta Scholars

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 501.

Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org
Shalonda Holt | Teacher | Shalonda_Holt@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Educators Rising

Meets on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of the month after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Empire Mock Trial

Meets Tuesdays and Thursdays after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough | Teacher | Kelli_McDonough@hcpss.org | Website

Environmental Club

Meets Thursdays afte school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 913.  FBLA is the oldest and largest student business organization in the world.  Members participate in competitive events, attend regional, state and national conferences and participate in business skill building sessions, workshops and field trips.  Members also can participate in the Millionaire's club or various other competitions such as the stock market game.

Kristin Taylor | Teacher (ITL) | Kristin_Taylor@hcpss.org
Sean Griffin | Teacher/CRD | sean_griffin@hcpss.org

First Robotics

The FIRST Robotics is teaming up with Hammond Robotics, Ursa Major,  again this year.  They meet on Friday's after school and two Saturday's a month from now to the End of December.  In January they will meet Monday - Friday from 2:15 PM to about 7:00 PM and on Saturday from 9:00 AM to about 2:00 PM.  All the meetings are in the Hammond Tech Ed room.

Stephen Lee | Teacher | stephen_lee@hcpss.org

Forensic Science

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 917.

Lori Griffiths | Teacher | Lori_Griffiths@hcpss.org

French Club

Meets after school days TBD in room 101.

Follow us @CHSfrancaisclub (twitter)

Marylynn Doff | Teacher, French | Marylynn_Doff@hcpss.org

Gay/Straight Alliance

Meets Thursdays after school in room 408.

Susan Gerb | Teacher | Susan_Gerb@hcpss.org

GenerationOn

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in Room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

German Club & Honor Society

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 302.

Daniel Desmond | Teacher, German | Daniel_Desmond@hcpss.org

Girl Up Foundation

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 905.

Jessica Pan | Teacher | Jessica_Landi@hcpss.org

Guitar Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 915.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Habitat for Humanity

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 305.

Melissa Jacobsen | Teacher | melissa_jacobsen@hcpss.org

Helping Hands

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 906.

Erin Parisi | Teacher | erin_parisi@hcpss.org | CHS Tennis
Jeremy Whitaker | Teacher | jeremy_whitaker@hcpss.org

Horizon Club

Meets every other Thursday after school in the Cafeteria.

Ellen Mauser | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (Sj - Z) | ellen_mauser@hcpss.org

Indian Dance Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 102.

Megan Cleveland | Teacher | megan_cleveland@hcpss.org

Indian Students at Centennial

Meets TBD after school in room 909.

Rodney McCaslin | Teacher | Rodney_McCaslin@hcpss.org

International Thespian Society

Meets on the first Wednesday of the month from 2:20 - 3:00 in Room 801.

Kathryn Carlsen | Teacher | Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

It's Academic

Meets on Tuesdays from 2:15 - 5:00 pm in Room 506. Refreshments (donuts/cookies/sodas) are provided at each meeting. The It's Academic club at Centennial competes at numerous quiz bowl tournaments throughout the year, where participants answer questions covering a broad range of subjects, from history to chemistry to even sports. These competitions test not only your depth of knowledge in certain areas, but also your ability to buzz quickly, similar to Jeopardy. It's Academic itself is a televised academic quiz bowl competition aired on CBS. Every year, our club sends a team of three top players to compete against other teams in the area. In fact, Centennial won the Baltimore-Metro Championships in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, and in 2013 as well as the Superbowl in 2009. Anyone who enjoys trivia or competition, regardless of skill level, is welcome to join us at our weekly meetings, where we practice with buzzers and answering questions. If you're interested in what types of questions are offered at tournaments, check out the hsquizbowl.org for free tournament packets and a forum on high school quiz bowl with many resources devoted to it.

Eric Seifter | Advisor |

Italian Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 915.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Jam Out

Meets Fridays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Jewish Student Union

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

KASA (Korean American Student Association)

Meets 2nd and 4th Tuesdays after school in Mrs. Choi's office insid ethe English planning area.

JaeHi Hebler | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (I - Ma) | JaeHi_Hebler@hcpss.org
Soyoun Choi | International Achievement Liaison | soyoun_choi@hcpss.org

Key Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in portable 1.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Liberty in North Korea (LINK)

Meets Wednesdays (bi-monthly) after school in room 202.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Lines of Love

Meets Thursdays after school in room 701.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org
Rus Van Westervelt | Teacher | Rus_Vanwestervelt@hcpss.org | Website

Make-a-Wish

Meets 1st Monday of the month after school in room 202.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Math Journal

Meets as needed during Eagle Time in portable 2.

 

Robert Kennedy | Teacher | robert_kennedy@hcpss.org

Math Team

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 902.

Stacy Cashmark | Teacher | Stacy_Cashmark@hcpss.org

Medical Bridges

Meets Wednesdays (bi-weekly) after school in room 911.

David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Mock Trial

Meets TBD after school in room 209.

Kristin Shipp | Teacher | Kristin_Shipp@hcpss.org | Website

Model Congress

Meets every other Wednesday after school in room 907.

Kelly Tieperman | Teacher | kelly_tieperman@hcpss.org
Thomas Wheeler | Teacher | thomas_wheeler@hcpss.org

Model United Nations (MUN)

Meets Thursdays after school in room 903. The Model UN is an organization that promotes international awareness and peaceful conflict resolution by giving students the opportunity to participate in conferences held at various universities and high schools. It simulates the United Nations, where delegates engage in research of historical and current international issues, write proposals, resolve conflicts, and engage in debates with fellow conference attendees. Not only do students gain memorable experiences, they can gain knowledge in the areas of history, geography, culture, economics and science, which supplement the school curricula, providing them with a well-rounded education.

Frances Galante | Teacher | frances_galante@hcpss.org
Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org
David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Multicultural Musicians Club

Meets Thursdays after school in portable #1.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Music Mentors

Meets Wednesdays after school in the band room (702).

David Matchim | Teacher / Band | david_matchim@hcpss.org | CHS Music

One Love

Meets after school TBD.

Ellen Mauser | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (Sj - Z) | ellen_mauser@hcpss.org
Kristin Shipp | Teacher | Kristin_Shipp@hcpss.org | Website

PAWS

Meets every other Thursday after school in room 305.

Melissa Jacobsen | Teacher | melissa_jacobsen@hcpss.org

Physics Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 406.

Timothy Watson | Teacher | timothy_watson@hcpss.org

Polaris Project

Meets other 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 911

Kathryn Grimm | Teacher (ITL) | kathryn_grimm@hcpss.org

Pre-Med Club

Meets every other Monday after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Red Cross Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 914.

Stephen Lee | Teacher | stephen_lee@hcpss.org
Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

RPG & Strategy Gaming Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 915.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Salvation Army Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in the media center.

P. Kayleen Reese | Teacher (ITL) | patricia_reese@hcpss.org
Danielle Holzman | Teacher | danielle_holzman@hcpss.org

Science Olympiad Club

Meets on Thursdays from 2:15 - 3:15 pm in Room 507. At least one full-day Saturday competition occurs in January, February, March, April, and May. The Science Olympiad Club is an active participant in the Maryland and National Science Olympiad. Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers. Who can join? Anyone who loves science and would like to compete at an advanced level in much the same way an athletic team does including: try-outs, brain-storming, testing, building, revising, and most importantly having fun! Related Links

Jason Piluk | Teacher | jason_piluk@hcpss.org
Janice Rice | Teacher | janice_rice@hcpss.org

She's The First

Meets every Monday (except for the first Monday) after school in room 904.

Michelle McKinnon | Teacher | michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

Soaring Eagle Steppers

Meets Monday - Thursday after school in room 307 or the cafeteria.  May meet during Eagle Time as necessary.

Tricia Moody | tricia_moody@hcpss.org

Speech and Debate Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Spike Ball

Meets TBD after school outside.

Lori Estes | Teacher | lori_estes@hcpss.org

Student Government Association

SGA 2017-2018

  • President - Swadhin Nalubola
  • V. P. - Greg Costello
  • Corresponding Secretary - Summer Shen
  • Recording Secretary - Stacy Lee
  • Event Coordinators - Amber Fang & Victoria Chiu
  • Volunteer Coordinators -  Pranavi Yerramareddy & Miles Scharff
  • Historian - Simone Sabnis
  • General Members - Michael Harris & Noni Grimes
  • Freshmen Positions -
Michelle Van Gieson | Media Specialist | Michelle_Van_Gieson@hcpss.org

Table Tennis

Meets Wednesdays after school in the cafeteria.

Ping Pong (Table Tennis) has always been viewed by most Americans as a recreational sporrt, whereas in most Asian countries, it is broadcasted and viewed as a mainstream sport.  This club will serve both as a cultural enrichment to testify to the true rigor of table tennis as a sport and as a fun and relaxing environment for those who want to play Ping Pong with their friends.
 

Jarrett Emery | Teacher | jarrett_emery@hcpss.org

Teenage Republicans & Libertarians

Meets Thursdays after school in room 909.

Rodney McCaslin | Teacher | Rodney_McCaslin@hcpss.org

Ultimate Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 507 or on the school athletc fields.

Jason Piluk | Teacher | jason_piluk@hcpss.org

Video Production Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 202.

Linda Norris | Media Specialist | Linda_Norris@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Vintage Voices

Meets Thursdays after school in room 908.

Kelly Borowski | Teacher | kelly_borowski@hcpss.org

Writer's Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

Young Democrats

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

Zaching Against Cancer

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle time in room 912.

Robert Slopek | Health Teacher | Robert_Slopek@hcpss.org
Chad Hollwedel | Teacher (ITL) | Chad_Hollwedel@hcpss.org | GT Physics PPT Lessons