Activities & Clubs

Acafellas

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 703.

Jessica Cummings Music Teacher jessica_cummings@hcpss.org

Alex's Lemonade Stand

Meets Tuesdays after school in Portable #1.

The purpose of this club is to raise money for both cancer awareness and funding research for cures. 

Katherine Parker Teacher katherine_parker@hcpss.org
David Riddler Teacher david_riddler@hcpss.org

Alpha Achievers

Meets Thursdays after school in room 914.

Justin Thomas Teacher Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

Anime Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 504.

Tara Carr Teacher Tara_Carr@hcpss.org

Applied Design Club (ADC)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 407.

ADC is a service club thaht makes various designs for other clubs such as logos, business cards, t-shirts, etc. and alos makes websites and the like.

Robert While Teacher Robert_While@hcpss.org

Aquila

Meets after school date TBD in rm 203.

Lauren Mancini Teacher lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

Archaeology Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 202.

Kristin Lavender Teacher Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Astronomy & Rocket Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld Teacher Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org

Athletes in Action

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 914.

Justin Thomas Teacher Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

Awkward Improv Group

Meets after school Tuesdays and Thursdays in room 802.

Kathryn Carlsen Teacher Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

Badminton Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 506 or the gym. (eaglebirdies@gmail.com)

Robert Astri Teacher Robert_Astri@hcpss.org

BASIC

Meets on Mondays after school in Room 501 or 516.

Lisa Robinson Paraeducator lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

Best Buddies

Meets on the second Tuesday after school in the cafeteria.

Elizabeth Engle Teacher (ALS) elizabeth_engle@hcpss.org
Christopher Ashcraft Paraeducator Christopher_Ashcraft@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender Teacher Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

BSU (Black Student Union)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 516.

Brandon Barrett Teacher / CRD Brandon_Barrett@hcpss.org

BTK (KPop)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 604.

Daleth Sendin PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher daleth_sendin@hcpss.org

C#

Meets Wednesdays and Fridays after school in the Choir Room (rm 703).

Jessica Cummings Music Teacher jessica_cummings@hcpss.org

Calisthenics

Meets Monday, Wednesday and Friday after school in the weight room and gym.

Christopher Ashcraft Paraeducator Christopher_Ashcraft@hcpss.org

Centennial High School Newspaper - The Wingspan

Official news source written and managed by Centennial High School students and faculty.

Rus Van Westervelt Teacher Rus_Vanwestervelt@hcpss.org

Chesapeake Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 505.

Karen Reynolds Teacher karen_reynolds@hcpss.org

Chess Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Chinese Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 402.

Stephen Lee Teacher stephen_lee@hcpss.org

CHS Math Journal

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in portable 2.

 

Robert Kennedy Teacher robert_kennedy@hcpss.org
Daleth Sendin PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher daleth_sendin@hcpss.org
Rus Van Westervelt Teacher Rus_Vanwestervelt@hcpss.org

Columbia Community Tutors

Meets Saturdays at Oakland Mills High School.

Sara Duran Teacher Sara_Duran@hcpss.org
Kristin Shipp Teacher Kristin_Shipp@hcpss.org

Computer Science Club

Meets TBD after school in rooms 604, 605, & 606.

A club for anyone interested in coding, game design, 3D modeling, Android development and, LAN Gaming and anything else related to computer science. Come one, come all!

Daleth Sendin PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher daleth_sendin@hcpss.org
Nancy Smith Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Culinary Club

Meets 1st and 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal Teacher robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Cultural Musicians Club

Meets every other Wednesday after school in portable #1.

Katherine Parker Teacher katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Current Events Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 911.

This club will serve as an opportuniy for students to discuss current events in a group.

David Riddler Teacher david_riddler@hcpss.org

Delta Scholars

Meets every other Tuesday after school in room 501.

Lisa Robinson Paraeducator lisa_robinson@hcpss.org
Shalonda Holt Teacher Shalonda_Holt@hcpss.org

Educators Rising

Meets on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal Teacher robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Empire Mock Trial

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough Teacher Kelli_McDonough@hcpss.org

Environmental Club

Meets Thursdays afte school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld Teacher Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 913.  FBLA is the oldest and largest student business organization in the world.  Members participate in competitive events, attend regional, state and national conferences and participate in business skill building sessions, workshops and field trips.  Members also can participate in the Millionaire's club or various other competitions such as the stock market game.

Kristin Taylor Teacher Kristin_Taylor@hcpss.org
Sean Griffin Teacher sean_griffin@hcpss.org

Film Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 202.

Linda Norris Media Specialist Linda_Norris@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender Teacher Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

First Robotics

The FIRST Robotics is teaming up with Hammond Robotics, Ursa Major,  again this year.  They meet on Friday's after school and two Saturday's a month from now to the End of December.  In January they will meet Monday - Friday from 2:15 PM to about 7:00 PM and on Saturday from 9:00 AM to about 2:00 PM.  All the meetings are in the Hammond Tech Ed room.

Stephen Lee Teacher stephen_lee@hcpss.org

Forensic Science

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 917.

Lori Griffiths Teacher Lori_Griffiths@hcpss.org

French Club

Meets the 1st Wednesday of the month during Eagle Time in room 101.

Follow us @CHSfrancaisclub (twitter)

Marylynn Doff Teacher, French Marylynn_Doff@hcpss.org

Gardening Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 504.

Tara Carr Teacher Tara_Carr@hcpss.org

Gay/Straight Alliance

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 408.

Susan Gerb Teacher Susan_Gerb@hcpss.org

GenerationOn

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in Room 303.

Corey O'Brien Teacher Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

German Club & Honor Society

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 205.

Daniel Desmond Teacher, German Daniel_Desmond@hcpss.org

Girl Up Foundation

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 905.

Jessica Pan Teacher Jessica_Pan@hcpss.org

Guitar Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 915.

Christopher Panzerella Teacher christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Habitat for Humanity

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 305.

Melissa Jacobsen Teacher melissa_jacobsen@hcpss.org

Helping Hands

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 404.

Erin Parisi Teacher erin_parisi@hcpss.org

Horizon Club

Meets every other Thursday after school in the Cafeteria.

Ellen Mauser Guidance Counselor 9 - 11(Sj - Z) 12(Se- Z) ellen_mauser@hcpss.org

Indian Dance Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 102.

Stephen Doff Teacher, Spanish and French Stephen_Doff@hcpss.org

Indian Students at Centennial

Meets TBD after school in room 909.

Rodney McCaslin Teacher Rodney_McCaslin@hcpss.org

International Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 900.

International Thespian Society

Meets on the first Wednesday of the month from 2:20 - 3:00 in Room 801.

Kathryn Carlsen Teacher Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

It's Academic

Meets on Tuesdays from 2:15 - 5:00 pm in Room 509. Refreshments (donuts/cookies/sodas) are provided at each meeting. The It's Academic club at Centennial competes at numerous quiz bowl tournaments throughout the year, where participants answer questions covering a broad range of subjects, from history to chemistry to even sports. These competitions test not only your depth of knowledge in certain areas, but also your ability to buzz quickly, similar to Jeopardy. It's Academic itself is a televised academic quiz bowl competition aired on CBS. Every year, our club sends a team of three top players to compete against other teams in the area. In fact, Centennial won the Baltimore-Metro Championships in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, and in 2013 as well as the Superbowl in 2009. Anyone who enjoys trivia or competition, regardless of skill level, is welcome to join us at our weekly meetings, where we practice with buzzers and answering questions. If you're interested in what types of questions are offered at tournaments, check out the hsquizbowl.org for free tournament packets and a forum on high school quiz bowl with many resources devoted to it.

Eric Seifter Advisor

Italian Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 915.

Christopher Panzerella Teacher christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Jewish Student Union

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld Teacher Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org

KASA (Korean American Student Association)

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 600.

Jae Hi Hebler Guidance Counselor 9 - 11(I - Ma) 12(J - Mc) JaeHi_Hebler@hcpss.org
Soyoun Choi International Achievement Liaison soyoun_choi@hcpss.org

Key Club

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in portable 1.

Katherine Parker Teacher katherine_parker@hcpss.org

LAN Gaming

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 605.

Nancy Smith Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Liberty in North Korea (LINK)

Meets Wednesdays (bi-monthly) after school in room 202.

Kristin Lavender Teacher Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org
Argentina McCarthy Teacher, Spanish Argentina_McCarthy@hcpss.org

Lines of Love

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 701.

Robin Fleegal Teacher robin_fleegal@hcpss.org
Rus Van Westervelt Teacher Rus_Vanwestervelt@hcpss.org

Make-a-Wish

Meets Mondays after school in the cafeteria.

Jennifer Lapointe Teacher Jennifer_Lapointe@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender Teacher Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Math Team

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 902.

Stacy Cashmark Teacher Stacy_Cashmark@hcpss.org

Mock Trial

Meets TBD after school in room 209.

Kristin Shipp Teacher Kristin_Shipp@hcpss.org

Model Congress

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 907.

Kelly Tieperman Teacher kelly_tieperman@hcpss.org

Model United Nations (MUN)

Meets Thursdays after school in room 903. The Model UN is an organization that promotes international awareness and peaceful conflict resolution by giving students the opportunity to participate in conferences held at various universities and high schools. It simulates the United Nations, where delegates engage in research of historical and current international issues, write proposals, resolve conflicts, and engage in debates with fellow conference attendees. Not only do students gain memorable experiences, they can gain knowledge in the areas of history, geography, culture, economics and science, which supplement the school curricula, providing them with a well-rounded education.

Frances Galante Teacher frances_galante@hcpss.org
Katherine Parker Teacher katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Meets Thursdays after school, room TBD.

Jade Jordan Teacher, Spanish / Team Leader jade_jordan@hcpss.org

Pencil of Promise (PoP)

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 912.

This chapter of PoP will rais emoney to go directly to schools in devolping countries.  The club believes that education is the most powerful weapon to reduce poverty.

Robert Slopek Health Teacher Robert_Slopek@hcpss.org

Physics Club

Meets Mondays after school in room 901.

Michelle Bagley Teacher Michelle_Bagley@hcpss.org

Pre-Med Club

Meets 2nd and 4th Monday after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld Teacher Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org

Red Cross Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 914.

Stephen Lee Teacher stephen_lee@hcpss.org
Justin Thomas Teacher Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

RPG and Strategy Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 208.

John Sharbaugh Teacher John_Sharbaugh@hcpss.org

Salvation Army Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 410 and room 907.

Patricia Reese Teacher (ITL) patricia_reese@hcpss.org
Danielle Holzman Teacher danielle_holzman@hcpss.org

Science Olympiad Club

Meets on Thursdays from 2:15 - 3:15 pm in Room 507. At least one full-day Saturday competition occurs in January, February, March, April, and May. The Science Olympiad Club is an active participant in the Maryland and National Science Olympiad. Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers. Who can join? Anyone who loves science and would like to compete at an advanced level in much the same way an athletic team does including: try-outs, brain-storming, testing, building, revising, and most importantly having fun! Related Links

Jarrett Emery Teacher jarrett_emery@hcpss.org

Service Aiding Pediatric Patients (S.A.P.P.)

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 210.

Megan Cleveland Teacher megan_cleveland@hcpss.org

She's The First

Meets every Monday (except for the first Monday) after school in room 905.

Michelle McKinnon Teacher michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

Soaring Steppers

Meets Tuesdays and Thursdays after school in room 307.

Tricia Moody tricia_moody@hcpss.org

Speech and Debate Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn Teacher michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Student Government Association

SGA 2016-2017

  • President - John Lee
  • V. P. - Daniel Zheng
  • Corresponding Secretary - Brian Boone
  • Recording Secretary - Swadhin Nalubola
  • Event Coordinators - Stacy Lee & Claudia Pilcher
  • Volunteer Coordinators - Victori Chiu & Greg Costello
  • General Members - Dora de Melo & Amber Fang
  • Freshmen Positions -
Michelle Van Gieson Media Specialist Michelle_Van_Gieson@hcpss.org

Students Aiding Pediatric Patients (SAPP)

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 210.

Megan Cleveland Teacher megan_cleveland@hcpss.org

Table Tennis

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 208.

Ping Pong (Table Tennis) has always been viewed by most Americans as a recreational sporrt, whereas in most Asian countries, it is broadcasted and viewed as a mainstream sport.  This club will serve both as a cultural enrichment to testify to the true rigor of table tennis as a sport and as a fun and relaxing environment for those who want to play Ping Pong with their friends.
 

Jarrett Emery Teacher jarrett_emery@hcpss.org

Teenage Republicans & Libertarians

Meets Thursdays after school in room 909.

Rodney McCaslin Teacher Rodney_McCaslin@hcpss.org

Ultimate Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 507 or on the school athletc fields.

Jason Piluk Teacher jason_piluk@hcpss.org

UNICEF

Meets Thursdays after school in room 210.

Megan Cleveland Teacher megan_cleveland@hcpss.org

Vintage Voices

Meets Thursdays after school in room 908.

Kelly Borowski Teacher kelly_borowski@hcpss.org

Writer's Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien Teacher Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

Young Democrats

Meets Fridays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien Teacher Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org