Activities & Clubs

Active Minds

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 901.

Stacy Rosuck | School Psychologist | stacy_rosuck@hcpss.org

AHTAC (Anti-Human Trafficking Awareness Club)

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 911.

David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Alex's Lemonade Stand

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 105.

The purpose of this club is to raise money for both cancer awareness and funding research for cures. 

Shanna Grimes | Teacher/Spanish | shanna_grimes@hcpss.org

Alpha Achievers

Meets Thursdays after school in Portable 3.

Justin Thomas | Teacher | justin_thomas@hcpss.org

American Cancer Society

Meets 3rd Wednesday of the month after school in room 206 or 301.

Lori Estes | Teacher | lori_estes@hcpss.org
Nan Collins | Teacher/Art | nan_collins@hcpss.org | Website

Animator Illustrators

Meets weekly on Wednesdays after school in room 301B

Mark Hanssen | Teacher/Art | mark_hanssen@hcpss.org | Website

Anime Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in rooom 901.

Toni Ireland | Teacher (ITL) | toni_ireland@hcpss.org

Aquila, Centennial's Literary Magazine

Meets during Eagle Time in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

Astronomy & Rocket Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | todd_rosenfeld@hcpss.org

Awkward Improv Group

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 802.

Jacob Traver | Teacher/Theater and English | jacob_traver@hcpss.org

Badminton Club

Meets every other Friday after school in room 506 or the gym.  (eaglebirdies@gmail.com)

Robert Astri | Teacher | robert_astri@hcpss.org

BASIC

Meets Mondays after school in Room 516.

Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

Best Buddies

Meets 2nd Tuesday after school in room 306 and 307.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org
Colin Moe | Teacher | colin_moe@hcpss.org
Lizz Engle | Teacher | elizabeth_engle@hcpss.org

Book Was Better

Meets on the last Thursday after school in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

BSU (Black Student Union)

Meets every other Wednesday during Eagle Time in the Dell Lab.

Sydney Michener | Black Student Achievement Program (BSAP) Achievement Liaison | sydney_michener@hcpss.org

C# Acapella

Meets Wednesdays after school in the Choir Room (rm 703).

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Choral | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

Chess Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Computer Technologies Club (CTC)

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in rooms 604.

A club for anyone interested in coding, game design, 3D modeling, Android development and, LAN Gaming and anything else related to computer science. Come one, come all!

Daleth Sendin | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org
Daniel Howse | Teacher | daniel_howse@hcpss.org

Culinary Club

Meets 1st and 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

CyberPatriots

Meets Thursdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Delta Scholars

Meets 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 501.

Shalonda Holt | Teacher (ITL) | shalonda_holt@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb
Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

Educators Rising

Meets on the 2nd & 4th Wednesdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Empire Mock Trial

Meets every other Friday after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough-Schlehr | Teacher | kelli_mcdonough-schlehr@hcpss.org | Website

Engineering / Makers Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org
Linda Norris | Media Specialist | linda_norris@hcpss.org

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

Meets 2nd & 4th Wednesdays after school in room 913.  FBLA is the oldest and largest student business organization in the world.  Members participate in competitive events, attend regional, state and national conferences and participate in business skill building sessions, workshops and field trips.  Members also can participate in the Millionaire's club or various other competitions such as the stock market game.

Kristin Taylor | Teacher (ITL) | kristin_taylor@hcpss.org

Film Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 202.

Linda Norris | Media Specialist | linda_norris@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

FIRST Tech Challenge

Meets Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Fridays after school in room 606.  Meets 1st & 3rd Saturdays from 9 - 12.

Nancy Smith | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Fishing / Outdoor

Meets Tuesdays after school in portable 6.

Robert Yore | Teacher | robert_yore@hcpss.org

Free Your Mind

Meets 3rd Thursday of the month in room 904.

Michelle McKinnon | Teacher | michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

French Club

Meets 1st Wednesday of the month during Eagle Time in room 102.

Follow us @CHSfrancaisclub (twitter)

Marylynn Doff | Teacher/French | marylynn_doff@hcpss.org

Fresh Faces

Meets on the 3rd Monday after school in room 210.

Megan Brennan | Teacher | megan_brennan@hcpss.org

Gaming & RPG Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 406.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Gay/Straight Alliance

Meets Thursdays after school in room 408.

Susan Gerb | Teacher | susan_gerb@hcpss.org

German Club & Honor Society

Meets every other Wednesday both during Eagle Time and after school in room 205.

Daniel Desmond | Teacher/German, (ITL) | daniel_desmond@hcpss.org

Girl for Girl

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays during Eagle Time in Portable 1.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Girl STEMpowerment

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 411.

Alexandra Ward | Teacher | alexandra_ward@hcpss.org

Girl Up Foundation

Meets on the 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 402.

Alyssa Eller | Teacher | alyssa_eller@hcpss.org

Graphics Club

Meets Wednesays during Eagle Time in room 605.

Robert While | Teacher | robert_while@hcpss.org
Michael Hobson | Teacher | michael_hobson@hcpss.org

Green School

Meets 1st Monday of the month after school in room 917.

Lori Griffiths | Teacher | lori_griffiths@hcpss.org

Helping Hands

Meets on Tuesdays after school in room 906.

Jeremy Whitaker | Teacher | jeremy_whitaker@hcpss.org
Edward Fowler | Paraeducator | edward_fowler@hcpss.org

Horizon Club

Meets 2nd & 4th Thursdays after school in the Cafeteria.

Ellen Mauser | School Counselor 9-11 (Sj - Z), 12 (Sj-Z) | ellen_mauser@hcpss.org

Indian Dance Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 908.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org
Kelly Borowski | Teacher | kelly_borowski@hcpss.org

Interact

Meets weekly on Wednesdays after school in room 208.

Mary Pat Forsyth | Teacher | mary_forsyth@hcpss.org

It's Academic

Meets on Tuesdays from 2:15 - 5:00 pm in Room 506. Refreshments (donuts/cookies/sodas) are provided at each meeting. The It's Academic club at Centennial competes at numerous quiz bowl tournaments throughout the year, where participants answer questions covering a broad range of subjects, from history to chemistry to even sports. These competitions test not only your depth of knowledge in certain areas, but also your ability to buzz quickly, similar to Jeopardy. It's Academic itself is a televised academic quiz bowl competition aired on CBS. Every year, our club sends a team of three top players to compete against other teams in the area. In fact, Centennial won the Baltimore-Metro Championships in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, and in 2013 as well as the Superbowl in 2009. Anyone who enjoys trivia or competition, regardless of skill level, is welcome to join us at our weekly meetings, where we practice with buzzers and answering questions. If you're interested in what types of questions are offered at tournaments, check out the hsquizbowl.org for free tournament packets and a forum on high school quiz bowl with many resources devoted to it.

Italian Club

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 910.

James Zehe | Teacher | james_zehe@hcpss.org

Jam Out

Meets Fridays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Jewish Student Union

Meets 41st Tuesday of the month after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | todd_rosenfeld@hcpss.org

K-Pop

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org

KASA (Korean American Student Association)

Meets 2nd and 4th Tuesdays after school in Mrs. Choi's office, room 601.

JaeHi Hebler | School Counselor 9-11 (Ko-Na), 12 (I-Ma) | jaehi_hebler@hcpss.org
Soyoun Choi | International Achievement Liaison | soyoun_choi@hcpss.org

Key Club

Meets 2nd & 4th Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 202.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Lines of Love

Meets 2nd 7 4th Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Make-a-Wish

2nd & 4th Mondays after school in room 202.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Math Journal

Meets every other Eagle Time in room 914.

Robert Kennedy | Teacher | robert_kennedy@hcpss.org

Math Team

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 902.

Stacy Cashmark | Teacher | stacy_cashmark@hcpss.org

Mock Trial / Moot Court

Meets Fridays after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough-Schlehr | Teacher | kelli_mcdonough-schlehr@hcpss.org | Website

Model Congress

Meets 2nd & 4th Wednesdays after school in room 907.

Kelly Tieperman | Teacher | kelly_tieperman@hcpss.org
Thomas Wheeler | Teacher | thomas_wheeler@hcpss.org

Model United Nations (MUN)

Meets Thursdays after school in the media center or in room 903. The Model UN is an organization that promotes international awareness and peaceful conflict resolution by giving students the opportunity to participate in conferences held at various universities and high schools. It simulates the United Nations, where delegates engage in research of historical and current international issues, write proposals, resolve conflicts, and engage in debates with fellow conference attendees. Not only do students gain memorable experiences, they can gain knowledge in the areas of history, geography, culture, economics and science, which supplement the school curricula, providing them with a well-rounded education.

Frances Galante | Teacher | frances_galante@hcpss.org
Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org
David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org
Chao Vu | Teacher | chao_vu@hcpss.org

Music Mentors / Music Outreach

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 702 (band) and at BMMS.

Allen Leung | Teacher/Orchestra | allen_leung@hcpss.org | CHS Music

Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Meets Fridays after school in room 915.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

NASU (Native American Student Union)

Meets 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 908.

Kelly Borowski | Teacher | kelly_borowski@hcpss.org

PAWS

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 305.

The mission of the PAWS (Partnership for Animal Welfare Society) Club is to raise funds for Animal Welfare Organizations and raise awareness for Animal Welfare Issues. Throughout the year we will participate in various activities to raise funds for animal shelters and other non-profit organizations that support animal issues. Possible activities may include: supply drive for needed items for shelters, research and share information on animal welfare issues, make items for animals shelters or wildlife, participate in national animal welfare initiatives.  

Melissa Jacobsen | Teacher | melissa_jacobsen@hcpss.org

Pencils of Promise (PoP)

Meets 1st Thursday of the month after school in portable r.

Robert Yore | Teacher | robert_yore@hcpss.org

Ping Pong Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in the cafeteria.

Jarrett Emery | Teacher/Physical Education | jarrett_emery@hcpss.org

Pre-Med Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | todd_rosenfeld@hcpss.org

Psychology Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Thursdays after school in room 908.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

RAAR (Roningya Aid Awareness)

Meets weekly on Wednesdays after school in room 802.

Jacob Traver | Teacher/Theater and English | jacob_traver@hcpss.org

Red Cross Club

Meets every other Friday after school in the media center or the cafeteria

Justin Thomas | Teacher | justin_thomas@hcpss.org

Salvation Army Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in the media center.

P. Kayleen Reese | Teacher (ITL) | patricia_reese@hcpss.org
Danielle Holzman | Teacher | danielle_holzman@hcpss.org

Science Olympiad Club

Meets on Thursdays after school in Room 507. At least one full-day Saturday competition occurs in January, February, March, April, and May. The Science Olympiad Club is an active participant in the Maryland and National Science Olympiad. Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers. Who can join? Anyone who loves science and would like to compete at an advanced level in much the same way an athletic team does including: try-outs, brain-storming, testing, building, revising, and most importantly having fun! Related Links

Jason Piluk | Teacher | jason_piluk@hcpss.org
Timothy Watson | Teacher | timothy_watson@hcpss.org

She's The First

Meets every Monday (except for the first Monday) after school in room 904.

Michelle McKinnon | Teacher | michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

Skateboarding

Meets 1st & 3rd Friday after school in the room 513.

Allen Leung | Teacher/Orchestra | allen_leung@hcpss.org | CHS Music

Smash Brothers Video

Meets weekly on Thursdays after school in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | Teacher/Tech Ed and PLTW | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org

Speech and Debate Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Ultimate Frisbee Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 407.

Michael Hobson | Teacher | michael_hobson@hcpss.org

Weight Lifting Workout Club

Meets Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursdays after school in the weight room.

Denis Ahearn | Teacher | denis_ahearn@hcpss.org

Writer's Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | corey_o'brien@hcpss.org

Young Democrats

Meets 1st & 3rd Thursdays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | corey_o'brien@hcpss.org

YSM (Young Socialists Movement)

Meets weekly on Thusdays after school in room 209.

Jason Bartholomew | Teacher | jason_bartholomew@hcpss.org

Zaching Against Cancer

Meets 1st Wednesday during Eagle time in room 912.

Robert Slopek | Teacher/Health | robert_slopek@hcpss.org
Chad Hollwedel | Teacher | chad_hollwedel@hcpss.org