Activities & Clubs

Acafellas

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 703 (choir room).

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Music | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

AHTAC (Anti-Human Trafficking Awareness Club)

Meets 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 911.

David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Alex's Lemonade Stand

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 105.

The purpose of this club is to raise money for both cancer awareness and funding research for cures. 

Shanna Grimes | Teacher, Spanish | Shanna_Grimes@hcpss.org

Alpha Achievers

Meets Thursdays after school in room 914.

Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

American Cancer Society

Meets 1st Wednesday of the month after school in room 206.

Lori Estes | Teacher | lori_estes@hcpss.org

Anime Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in rooom 504.

Toni Ireland | Teacher (ITL) | toni_ireland@hcpss.org

Aquila, Centennial's Literary Magazine

Meets during Eagle Time in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

Astronomy & Rocket Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Awkward Improv Group

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 802.

Kathryn Carlsen | Teacher | Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

Badminton Club

Meets every other Friday after school in room 506 or the gym.  (eaglebirdies@gmail.com)

Robert Astri | Teacher | Robert_Astri@hcpss.org

BASIC

Meets every other Monday after school in Room 516.

Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

Best Buddies

Meets on the third Tuesday after school in room 306 and 307.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org
Colin Moe | Teacher (ALS) | colin_moe@hcpss.org

Book Was Better

Meets on the third Friday after school in room 203.

Lauren Mancini | Teacher | lauren_mancini@hcpss.org

BSU (Black Student Union)

Meets during Eagle Time in room 516.

Lisa Robinson | Paraeducator | lisa_robinson@hcpss.org

C# Acapella

Meets Fridays after school in the Choir Room (rm 703).

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Music | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

Chess Club

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith | Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Columbia Community Tutors

Meets during Eagle Time in room 605.

Robert While | Teacher | Robert_While@hcpss.org

Computer Technologies Club (CTC)

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in rooms 604.

A club for anyone interested in coding, game design, 3D modeling, Android development and, LAN Gaming and anything else related to computer science. Come one, come all!

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site

Cricket Enthusiasts

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 505.

Karen Reynolds | Teacher | karen_reynolds@hcpss.org

Culinary Club

Meets 1st and 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

CyberPatriots

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 606.

Nancy Smith | Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Delta Scholars

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 501.

Shalonda Holt | Teacher | Shalonda_Holt@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Educators Rising

Meets on the 2nd & 4th Thursdays after school in room 603.

Robin Fleegal | Teacher | robin_fleegal@hcpss.org

Empire Mock Trial

Meets Thursdays after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough-Schlehr | Teacher | kelli_mcdonough-schlehr@hcpss.org | Website

Engineering / Makers Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site
Linda Norris | Media Specialist | Linda_Norris@hcpss.org

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

Meets2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 913.  FBLA is the oldest and largest student business organization in the world.  Members participate in competitive events, attend regional, state and national conferences and participate in business skill building sessions, workshops and field trips.  Members also can participate in the Millionaire's club or various other competitions such as the stock market game.

Kristin Taylor | Teacher (ITL) | Kristin_Taylor@hcpss.org

Film Club

Meets the 2nd & 4th Thursdays after school in room 202.

Linda Norris | Media Specialist | Linda_Norris@hcpss.org
Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

FIRST Tech Challenge

Meets Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Fridays after school in room 606.  Meets 1st & 3rd Saturdays from 9 - 12.

Nancy Smith | Tech Ed / PLTW Teacher | nancy_c_smith@hcpss.org

Fishing

Meets every other Tuesday after school in portable 6.

Robert Yore | Teacher | robert_yore@hcpss.org

Free Your Mind

Meets 1st Thursday of the month in room 904.

Michelle McKinnon | Teacher | michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

French Club

Meets 4th Wednesday of the monthduring Eagle Time in room 102.

Follow us @CHSfrancaisclub (twitter)

Marylynn Doff | Teacher, French | Marylynn_Doff@hcpss.org

Gay/Straight Alliance

Meets Thursdays after school in room 408.

Susan Gerb | Teacher | Susan_Gerb@hcpss.org

German Club & Honor Society

Meets Wednesdays during Eagle Time in room 302.

Daniel Desmond | Teacher (ITL), German | Daniel_Desmond@hcpss.org

Girl for Girl

Meets 2nd & 4th Wednesdays during Eagle Time in Portable 1.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Girl Up Foundation

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 402.

Alyssa Eller | Teacher | alyssa_eller@hcpss.org

Graphics Club

Meets Fridays after school in room 407 or 914.

Robert While | Teacher | Robert_While@hcpss.org
Michael Hobson | Teacher | michael_hobson@hcpss.org

Green School

Meets 1st Monday of the month after school in room 917.

Lori Griffiths | Teacher | Lori_Griffiths@hcpss.org

Helping Hands

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 906.

Erin Parisi | Math Teacher | erin_parisi@hcpss.org | CHS Tennis
Jeremy Whitaker | Teacher | jeremy_whitaker@hcpss.org

HoCo Hackathon

Meets 1st Thursday of the month after school in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site
Robert While | Teacher | Robert_While@hcpss.org

Horizon Club

Meets Thursdays after school in the Cafeteria.

Ellen Mauser | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (Sj - Z) | ellen_mauser@hcpss.org

Indian Dance Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 210.

Megan Cleveland | Teacher | megan_cleveland@hcpss.org

International Thespian Society

Meets on the first Wednesday of the month from 2:20 - 3:00 in Room 802.

Kathryn Carlsen | Teacher | Kathryn_Carlsen@hcpss.org

It's Academic

Meets on Tuesdays from 2:15 - 5:00 pm in Room 506. Refreshments (donuts/cookies/sodas) are provided at each meeting. The It's Academic club at Centennial competes at numerous quiz bowl tournaments throughout the year, where participants answer questions covering a broad range of subjects, from history to chemistry to even sports. These competitions test not only your depth of knowledge in certain areas, but also your ability to buzz quickly, similar to Jeopardy. It's Academic itself is a televised academic quiz bowl competition aired on CBS. Every year, our club sends a team of three top players to compete against other teams in the area. In fact, Centennial won the Baltimore-Metro Championships in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, and in 2013 as well as the Superbowl in 2009. Anyone who enjoys trivia or competition, regardless of skill level, is welcome to join us at our weekly meetings, where we practice with buzzers and answering questions. If you're interested in what types of questions are offered at tournaments, check out the hsquizbowl.org for free tournament packets and a forum on high school quiz bowl with many resources devoted to it.

Italian Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Tuesdays after school in room 910.

James Zehe | Teacher | james_zehe@hcpss.org

Jam Out

Meets Fridays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Jewish Student Union

Meets 4th Wednesday of the month after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

K-Pop

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 604.

Daleth Sendin | PLTW POC / Tech Ed Teacher | daleth_sendin@hcpss.org | Edmodo Site

KASA (Korean American Student Association)

Meets 2nd and 4th Tuesdays after school in Mrs. Choi's office, room 601.

JaeHi Hebler | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (I - Ma) | JaeHi_Hebler@hcpss.org
Soyoun Choi | International Achievement Liaison | soyoun_choi@hcpss.org

Key Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays during Eagle Time in portable 1.

Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org

Latin American Youth Association (LAYA)

Meets every other Thrsday after school in room 204.

Sydney Littmann | Teacher, Spanish | sydney_littmann@hcpss.org

Lines of Love

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 904.

Stacy Rosuck | Psychologist | Stacy_Rosuck@hcpss.org
Bernadette Mullinix | Paraeducator | bernadette_mullinix@hcpss.org

Make-a-Wish

Meets 1st Monday of the month after school and during Eagle Time in room 202.

Kristin Lavender | Teacher | Kristin_Lavender@hcpss.org

Math Journal

Meets as needed during Eagle Time in room 914.

Robert Kennedy | Teacher | robert_kennedy@hcpss.org

Math Team

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 902.

Stacy Cashmark | Teacher | Stacy_Cashmark@hcpss.org

Medical Bridges

Meets 4th Friday of the month after school in room 911.

David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Mock Trial

Meets Fridays after school in room 201.

Kelli McDonough-Schlehr | Teacher | kelli_mcdonough-schlehr@hcpss.org | Website

Model Congress

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in room 907.

Kelly Tieperman | Teacher | kelly_tieperman@hcpss.org
Thomas Wheeler | Teacher | thomas_wheeler@hcpss.org

Model United Nations (MUN)

Meets Thursdays after school in the media center or in room 903. The Model UN is an organization that promotes international awareness and peaceful conflict resolution by giving students the opportunity to participate in conferences held at various universities and high schools. It simulates the United Nations, where delegates engage in research of historical and current international issues, write proposals, resolve conflicts, and engage in debates with fellow conference attendees. Not only do students gain memorable experiences, they can gain knowledge in the areas of history, geography, culture, economics and science, which supplement the school curricula, providing them with a well-rounded education.

Frances Galante | Teacher | frances_galante@hcpss.org
Katherine Parker | Teacher | katherine_parker@hcpss.org
David Riddler | Teacher | david_riddler@hcpss.org

Music Mentors

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 702 (band) and at BMMS.

Allen Leung | Teacher / Orchestra | Allen_Leung@hcpss.org | CHS Music

Muslim Student Association (MSA)

Meets Tuesdays after school in room 101.

Angela Alascia | Teacher, Spanish | angela_alascia@hcpss.org

One Love

Meets 1st Wednesday after school in Student Services.

Ellen Mauser | Guidance Counselor 10 - 12 (Sj - Z) | ellen_mauser@hcpss.org

PAWS

Meets 1st & 3rd Thursdays after school in room 305.

Melissa Jacobsen | Teacher | melissa_jacobsen@hcpss.org

Pencils of Promise (PoP)

Meets 1st Wednesday of the month after school in portable 5.

Robert Yore | Teacher | robert_yore@hcpss.org

Ping Pong Club

Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays after school in the cafeteria.

Jarrett Emery | Teacher | jarrett_emery@hcpss.org

Pre-Med Club

Meets Thursdays after school in room 409.

Todd Rosenfeld | Teacher | Todd_Rosenfeld@hcpss.org | TeacherWeb

Red Cross Club

Meets every other Friday after school in the media center, room 914 or the cafeteria

Justin Thomas | Teacher | Justin_Thomas@hcpss.org

RPG & Strategy Gaming Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 915.

Chris Panzarella | Teacher | christopher_panzarella@hcpss.org

Salvation Army Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in the media center, room 914 or portable 1.

P. Kayleen Reese | Teacher (ITL) | patricia_reese@hcpss.org
Danielle Holzman | Teacher | danielle_holzman@hcpss.org

Science Olympiad Club

Meets on Thursdays after school in Room 507. At least one full-day Saturday competition occurs in January, February, March, April, and May. The Science Olympiad Club is an active participant in the Maryland and National Science Olympiad. Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers. Who can join? Anyone who loves science and would like to compete at an advanced level in much the same way an athletic team does including: try-outs, brain-storming, testing, building, revising, and most importantly having fun! Related Links

Jason Piluk | Teacher | jason_piluk@hcpss.org

She's The First

Meets every Monday (except for the first Monday) after school in room 904.

Michelle McKinnon | Teacher | michelle_mckinnon@hcpss.org

Skateboarding

Meets every other Friday after school in the room 702.

Allen Leung | Teacher / Orchestra | Allen_Leung@hcpss.org | CHS Music

Speech and Debate Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 412.

Michelle Flynn | Teacher | michelle_flynn@hcpss.org

Spike Ball

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 206.

Lori Estes | Teacher | lori_estes@hcpss.org

Ukulele Club

Meets every other Thursday after school in room 701.

Rebecca Vanover | Teacher/Music | rebecca_vanover@hcpss.org

Ultimate Frisbee Club

Meets every other Wednesday after school in room 910.

James Zehe | Teacher | james_zehe@hcpss.org

Vintage Voices

Meets Thursdays after school in room 908.

Kelly Borowski | Teacher | kelly_borowski@hcpss.org

Weight Lifting Workout Club

Meets Thursdays after school in the weight room.

Denis Ahearn | Social Studies Teacher | Denis_Ahearn@hcpss.org

Writer's Club

Meets Wednesdays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

Young Democrats

Meets 2nd & 4th Tuesdays after school in room 303.

Corey O'Brien | Teacher | Corey_O'Brien@hcpss.org

Zaching Against Cancer

Meets every other Wednesday during Eagle time in room 912.

Robert Slopek | Health Teacher | Robert_Slopek@hcpss.org
Chad Hollwedel | Teacher (ITL) | Chad_Hollwedel@hcpss.org | GT Physics PPT Lessons